4 Ways to Protect and Prepare Your Girls!

I like to think that I’ve done my share of preparation in regards to preserving the innocence of my daughters. I have prayed, read the top books, highlighted the key points, and engaged in personal conversations with experts like best-selling author Dannah Gresh. I even documented those conversations for you here! Not to mention, I started this magazine based on my convictions to protect and preserve the innocence of all of our girls!

So why was I totally unprepared when I found that my eight year old daughter had searched “sexy girl games” in the apps store on her ipod?!

The conversation went something like this:

Me (after a moment of collecting pieces of my shattered heart off of the floor):

Uhhhh Sweetie, what’s this?

Alena:

I was just, I was just…I wasn’t going to download it…I….( mentally debating on if she should play the devastated victim role or deny at all costs)

Me:

What were you looking for? What does sexy mean?

Alena:

It means love and cute…I was just looking for games for cute girls….(at this point devastated victim won and she went into a full fledge meltdown while I helplessly looked at Daddy and screamed HELPPPPP with my eyes!)

***********************************************************************************

Although discipline was in order because of the deceptiveness and trust issue, ultimately her search for answers opened my eyes to see that my job is not solely protection, but relentless preemptive attacks.

For some reason I thought that my thorough preparation would protect her from the voices of her peers and images in our society at large. However, while I was busy preserving and protecting her innocence, a television commercial, a song on the radio, a stranger’s outfit in Target, or a friend at school sparked her curiosity and exposed her to concepts and misconstrued messages of sex and love.

While I was using vague explanations like “not appropriate for girls your age,” she was searching for real answers and truth on her own.

We cannot protect our children simply by sheltering them, we must prepare them by filling them with God’s truth on life before Satan plants his seeds of deceit.

Here are 4 foundational ways to protect your girls as well as prepare them!

1. Build trust:

Your daughters need to know that they can trust you and that you trust them. The thing that was most devastating for me was not that my daughter was looking for answers, but that she was looking somewhere else. Let your girls know that they can talk to you and get truth, not just vague words to brush over real questions.

2. Become the expert and be the example:

Never look too surprised or shocked by what your little girls say! They don’t need to see you sweat. They need to believe that you know what you are talking about! They also need to SEE that you believe and follow your own advice! Your actions will always speak louder and last longer than your words.

3. Create opportunities for dialogue:

Don’t be afraid to ask your girls what they think about certain concepts and situations. Whether it’s a real life outfit or a made-up friendship, look for opportunities to engage in conversations with them. They may often surprise you with their knowledge and it will give you a chance to correct any false concepts or ideas they may be holding.

4. Trust God:

No matter how hard we try, how many conferences we attend or books we read, we will never cover it all. Satan will always view your daughter’s innocence and purity as a major fortress to attack. On our own, we simply cannot win. Pray over your girls fervently and seek God’s wisdom for every decision you make concerning them!

About For Girls Like You Magazine

Hi! I am so glad you are here. I am the proud wife of Jonathan and momma of FOUR little Girls, Alena, Kaitlyn, Camryn and Olivia! I am also the editor and founder of For Girls Like You Magazine! This blog is just one piece of the resources we have available for you! Find out more about me on the "A Little About Me" page! View all posts by For Girls Like You Magazine

13 responses to “4 Ways to Protect and Prepare Your Girls!

  • Lisa

    Great post, Wynter! You’re so right on. They will always have questions but who they go to for answers is the real issue. I’m so thankful for friendships like yours that help support us mommies as we mold these little girls into women of God. Go Charlie Brown Easter!!! LOL

  • Mary Lynn

    Such a hard part of parenting- Wanting to protect them and keep them innocent and safe from the things that can take their that all away- Keeps me on my knees as my 8 yr old daughter gets older and is more aware of clothes, words, and actions of others- Thanks for the thoughts!

  • Alia Joy (@NarrowPaths2HP)

    Ugggh, It’s so hard to raise girls in this society. My mom heart wants so much to insulate my daughter from all of the standards of our culture that say sexy=valuable. I have a series of letters I wrote to my daughter on my blog about all the things I long for her to know and these subjects are ones I hope she will always feel able to talk to me about. Such a good reminder that even at a super young age we need to be prepared to counter what this culture is telling them. Thanks.

    • For Girls Like You Magazine

      Thanks for commenting! The “super young age” is what is really throwing me off! I was prepared for later…but if we want to be the ones to introduce and instill truth we have to beat others to the punch.

      I love the idea of the letters. Can you post the link so we can check it out!

  • joyfultxgal

    What a great post! We have two girls and we’ve had to address online game-play, too. It’s wild what comes up even on the girl sites that are “good.” Trying to build that filter in them so that they will recognize immodesty and immorality at first glance is kind of tough – there’s so much out there – and finding the balance between preparing them and giving them too much too soon. Lots of prayer!!

  • rbpmom

    Wynter
    Your post really hit home. My five year old was singing, “I’m sexy and I know it.” She heard it at her school from one of her friends and she thought it was “cute” to sing. She was also teaching her 3 year old sister the lyrics. She said that she simply thought it meant she is cute. I asked God at that moment to give me the right words to explain what sexy means without robbing her and her sister of their innocence. Your magazine and blogs are a light in this dark society. Be blessed.

  • glendachilders

    Our girls are raised … but I like this advice.

    I am popping over from UBP to say hi. Hope your enjoying party week.

    Fondly,
    Glenda

  • Court

    So good. Needed this today after a hard conversation with my daughter.

Leave a Reply

