Moms Like Us

At “For Girls Like You,” we love to introduce and surround our girls with girls just like them. Girls that love having fun, love learning new things, and meeting new people, while living a life that shines for Christ! Each issue features girls just like yours, along with articles and topics that keep their attention while making a positive impact in their young hearts and minds! The idea is basic. No one likes to feel alone and our goal is to create safe environments filled with all the things they love, including new friends!

Since moms are just grown up little girls, we want you to know that you are not alone either! Isn’t it fun when you meet someone in line at a grocery store or over hear a conversation at a playground with other ladies who speak your “mommy language?”

Well picture yourself at a park, your girls are playing and you happen to hear two moms chatting about raising kids, encouraging Godly characteristics and discussing how to handle tough topics like loneliness and bullying…now just as our conversation is getting good, I turn and say:

“Hi ladies, this is Thomasina Johnson, a children’s author and a homeschooling mom of 7! Her book, “Mama, When Will I Be Popular” was written to encourage kids who want to “fit in”–A mom and daughter talk, providing wisdom and hopefully a different outlook to the troubles of this little one’s life.

“I was just telling Thomasina:

Our kids face many challenges that we do not always know how to handle. Can you speak to the following challenges and how parents may best understand and support their young children during these times?

Yes, I’m so glad you asked!

Bullying

Bullying is such a multi-faceted topic and I am actually able to relate to both sides. I understand what it is like to be frustrated and embarrassed because your child is the bully and I know how hurtful it is as a result of your child being bullied. Parents are not always aware of the reason as to why their child is acting out. We have to look at the bullies from a personal side, knowing that their behavior may be one of a person who has been through trauma in their own life. They may need guidance and someone to look past the bully exterior to find the broken person behind the mask. In regards to the child being bullied, I believe that our children need to have a strong sense of self-worth. So strong, that no amount of teasing and bullying could cause them to lose hope. We should encourage our children to pray for the bully!

Loneliness

People are made to be around people, yet many are lonely with a swarm of people around them. It is important for our children to know that only God can FILL them up. We need to teach them the presence of God at a young age! In doing so we are insuring that they know they are “never alone and can never be forsaken” (Hebrews 13:5).

Not Fitting In

In my book I try to convey that we are never really going to fit in. This is a major issue with children who seek comfort in friendship above comfort in Christ. Convey to your children that they are a “unique and peculiar people” (1 Peter 2:9-10). This understanding took a load off of me when I gave my life to Christ! I had to come to the realization that my life was created to please Christ, and fitting in doesn’t always line up with that.

Your book, “Mama, When Will I Be Popular” focuses primarily on building strong character traits in young children. What are the three main character traits you look to build in your own children?

Integrity, wisdom and compassion, are BIG in my house. I have key scriptures that I share with my children:

Integrity – Lying lips are an abomination to the Lord (Proverbs 12:22)

Wisdom – Fools hate correction (Proverbs 15:5)

Compassion – Be kind to one another in brotherly love, honoring one another above yourselves (Romans 12:10)

What motivates you to help with building confidence and character in other children?

My childhood and the children around me who are craving guidance are what motivate me on a daily basis. It scares me to think of the reality that children face when left to their own way. Our children are our future, so I want to do my part to be a Godly influence in hopes that I can lessen the effects of a fragile and unstable generation.

Wow, that was great! Thank you Thomasina for sharing your insight and chatting with us! To chat more with Thomasina or to purchase her book for your girls, visit http://www.booksbythomasina.com

Now, will you introduce us to your friends? Who are some moms “like us” that you enjoy chatting with?

Leave a comment with a link to your favorite blogs!

About For Girls Like You Magazine

Hi! I am so glad you are here. I am the proud wife of Jonathan and momma of FOUR little Girls, Alena, Kaitlyn, Camryn and Olivia! I am also the editor and founder of For Girls Like You Magazine! This blog is just one piece of the resources we have available for you! Find out more about me on the "A Little About Me" page! View all posts by For Girls Like You Magazine

10 responses to “Moms Like Us

Leave a Reply

